Could I help you?
New TMS MDG-13 View larger



New product

TMS MDG-13 Masonry Designers' Guide- 8th edition

standard by The Masonry Society, 2013

More details

In stock


More info

Full Description

The best guide on designing masonry is now even better!

The 8th Edition of the Masonry Designers' Guide, which has been re-designated as the MDG 2013 so that readers more easily know it is based on the 2013 TMS 402/ACI 530/ASCE 5 and TMS 602/ACI 530.1/ASCE 6, has been completely updated. Numerous additions and changes have been made that include discussion and examples on new TMS 402 provisions on limit design of masonry and on partition walls. As with past editions, information related to masonry design requirements in the 2015 International Building Code (IBC) is included, and examples use loading requirements from ASCE 7-10.

The MDG 2013 is an excellent resource for designers as well as students learning about masonry because:it was developed by dozens of masonry experts who are familiar both with masonry design and with the Code requirements governing masonry's useit includes over 70 practical examples for typical masonry buildings and componentsit provides practical tips on how to quickly and efficiently design typical masonryit includes drawings and photographs to illustrate concepts and procedures discussed.Topics covered in the MDG 2013 include masonry materials, testing, quality assurance, quality control, construction methods, structural design, seismic design, and using the TMS 402/602 with model Building Codes. A companion website has been created to provide users with additional resources including Excel spreadsheets used in some of the design examples and select technical notes on clay brick and concrete masonry that are often used by designers are included on this website.

The MDG has become one of the most popular design guides for masonry due to its extensive examples and practical coverage of masonry design issues.